Guizot Prize – Departmental Council of Calvados (1994-2012)

Anne d'Ornano

Anne d’Ornano, President of the Departmental Council of Calvados

In 1993, upon a joint initiative of Madame Anne d’Ornano, President of the Departmental Council of Calvados, the great historian François Furet—later of the Académie française—and the François Guizot Association, which brings together Guizot’s descendants, created the Guizot-Calvados Prize to commemorate François Guizot, who had been deputy of Calvados from 1830 to 1848. Awarded every two years from 1993-2012, this prize recognized a book of history, studies of societies or political analysis, accessible to a wide audience.

On the occasion of its creation at Val Richer, on September 24, 1993, François Furet declared:

“This prize is at the confluence of several loyalties: the loyalty of an admirable family […], the loyalty that Normandy evinces towards its great men […], and the loyalty of the community of French historians and intellectuals who, in the past fifteen years, have rediscovered Guizot.”
Download the speech (in French) of François Furet, President of the jury.

François Furet, président du jury, et Sylvie Boissonnas, descendante de Guizot.

François Furet, president of the jury, and Sylvie Boissonnas, descendant of Guizot.