Guizot-Institut de France Prize (2014 to present)

The François Guizot-Institut de France Prize was created in 2013, under the patronage of the three academies of which Guizot was a member (Académie française, des sciences morales et politiques, des inscriptions et des belles lettres), at the joint initiative of Jean-Claude Casanova, President of the Jury, Gabriel de Broglie, Chancellor of the Institute and the François Guizot Association that includes descendants of the statesman. It is a continuation of the Guizot Prize of the Departmental Council of Calvados (1993-2012), instituted to commemorate François Guizot, deputy of Calvados from 1830 to 1848, on the initiative of Anne d’Ornano, President of the Departmental Council of Calvados, François Furet, of the Académie Française and the François Guizot Association.

It is awarded every two years to the author of a great work of history, a study of the contemporary world, social or political analysis recently published or broadcast, and accessible to a wide audience.

The laureate is chosen by an international jury whose first president was François Furet of the Académie Française and that is currently chaired by Eric Roussel of the Institute.

French members

  • Gabriel de Broglie
  • Jean-Claude Casanova
  • Patrice Gueniffey
  • Claude Habib
  • Françoise Melonio
  • Philippe Raynaud
  • Kléber Rossillon
  • Eric Roussel, President
  • Georges-Henri Soutou
  • Laurent Theis
  • Michel Zink

International members

  • Benedetta Craveri
  • Joy de Ménil

The Guizot-Institut de France 2022 Prize was awarded to Françoise Thom for her work La Marche à rebours, Regards sur l’Histoire soviétique et russe, Sorbonne Université Presses